Town of Mendon

Selectboard

February 10, 2025

Members of Selectboard present: Megan Smith, Seth Bridge, Sarah BuxtonTown Officers and employees present: Sara Tully, Town AdministratorRutland County Sheriff Deputy is present.Visitors present: Fred Bagley, Carol Gates, Justin Lindholm, Ann & Steve Singiser

M. Smith Chair called the meeting to order at 5:33 PM at the Town Office.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Agenda: No changes to the agenda.

Administrative Matters

Selectmen's Orders were reviewed.

Motion by M. Smith to approve orders 2/10/25 for \$20,965.36 and payroll for 2/3/25 for \$15,120.34. Motion seconded by S. Bridge. The Selectboard unanimously approved the motion.

M. Smith moved to approve the minutes for 1/27/25. Motion seconded by S. Buxton. The Selectboard unanimously approved the motion.

Announcements:

Town Meeting will be held at the VTRANS Building on Valley View on March 3, 2025 at 6 PM, Polls will be open March 4, 2025 at the Town Office from 8 AM to 7 PM.

<u>Public Comment</u>: F. Bagley commented on the Mendon Tax Stabilization Policy. The policy encourages commercial development with two-year tax stabilization. F. Bagley requested the Selectboard consider extending tax stabilization to 5 years to be more attractive to development along Route 4.

Business:

M. Smith announced she would recuse herself from the Planning Commission and Zoning Administrator discussion for appointment to these offices. M. Smith disclosed her husband, Greg Smith is being considered for a permanent appointment as Zoning Administrator.

S. Buxton reported that the Planning Commission received a resignation from Steve Ellerin from the position of Zoning Administrator effective 2/11/25. The Planning Commission nominated Steve Ellerin for appointment to the Planning Commission, a position Steve has held in the past. The Planning Commission recommended Greg Smith to be appointed as Zoning Administrator, a position Greg has held as interim for the past several months due to a medical leave of absence.

Planning Commission Appointment Motion by S. Buxton to appoint Steve Ellerin to the Planning Commission to fill a vacancy effective 2/11/25. Motion seconded by S. Bridge. S. Buxton and S. Bridge approved the motion.

Zoning Administrator Appointment Motion by S. Buxton to appoint Greg Smith as the permanent Zoning Administrator. Motion seconded by S. Bridge. S. Buxton and S. Bridge approved the motion. S. Tully discussed a term ending for this appointment to complete the remaining term of a 3 year appointment left vacant by Steve Ellerin is 3/31/26. S. Buxton rescinded her previous motion. Motion by S. Buxton to appoint Greg Smith as the permanent Zoning Administrator with a term ending 3/31/26. Motion seconded by S. Bridge. S. Buxton and S. Bridge approved the motion.

2025 *Town Meeting Preparation* M. Smith discussed the preparation of the presentation for Town Meeting. All are encouraged to attend the meeting on 3/4/25 at the VTRANS Building at 6 PM and vote at the polls on 3/5/25 from 8 AM to 7 PM.

FY25 Goals & Objectives Review & Update S. Buxton reported that she has started reviewing the Town Ordinances and Policies working with Jesse Bridge and Sara Tully. She discussed adopting a stand-alone fee structure that can be reviewed annually for any necessary changes. Currently some ordinances include fees. The stand-alone fee structure would encompass all fees. S. Tully reported that the town currently has a Town Clerk Fees Schedule and a Zoning and Planning Fee Structure. The

intent is to get them all in one place. The Selectboard agreed this is the direction the town should be working towards with ordinance and policy updates.

S. Bridge would like to recognize and thank the Mendon Road Crew for their hard work over the past several weeks. He sees them out at all hours, and they are doing a great job. The entire Selectboard relayed the same sentiments with a round of applause for the Road Crew.

S. Buxton moved to adjourn the Selectboard meeting at 5:49 PM. Motion seconded by S. Bridge. The motion passed unanimously.

Date Approved_____

Megan Smith

Sara Tully - Clerk of the Board

Seth Bridge

Sarah Buxton